A NEW RADIO STATION!

The Open Class is pleased to offer you a new radio station that you can listen to right on your computer or phone (if it’s set up for that).

We call our radio station “Open Heart” and you can listen by clicking on the radio station link on the front page of our website: http://www.TheOpenClass.com

We’re just getting the station started. There are a few glitches we have to work out, and we have a LOT of music to add, but it’s ready for you to start enjoying now. If there are some songs that you would like to hear on the station, just drop us a note!

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “A NEW RADIO STATION!”

  1. Sherry Says:

    Hi, Dan! I really enjoy your classes. I’m learning so much… my head and my heart are so full! I am concerned though. The classes the last couple of weeks were really intense and I’m thirsty for more. How and where do you find your interpretations of what’s written in the bible. I read and read but I don’t comprehend. I listen to you and it makes sense. In my youth, I went to catholic schools and churches. From time to time I would visit the churches of friends and relatives but have never been as receptive to the Word as I am now. Maybe this is my time. I don’t know. But I feel that I was drawn to FBR for a reason. I do have a question for you about “Bible-Based Churches”. Over the last two weeks you stated that some of the “ceremonies” and other events/activities that we as church members were participating in were not according to Gods command. Why is this? When we worship Jesus and God why do we not do so according to what is written in the bible? You said we should change from within. How do we do this? I know you told the deacons not to run and tell on you but I have a feeling that you’ll welcome it… “Stirring things up”, as you put it. :-}

    • danhurstfbc Says:

      Hi Sherry! Sorry it took so long for me to answer. I need to be more responsive to checking these comments. My apologies!

      Hmmmmmm…I think what I was referring to was some of the “traditions” we implement in churches. And some of those aren’t necessarily wrong, they just aren’t commanded by God. For example, church membership. Membership and how one achieves membership is usually a case of church tradition. It’s odd isn’t it how there could be 5 believers, all friends, all like-minded in their Christian beliefs and principles, all going to heaven, but each one a member of a different church that follows different guidelines for membership. Why and how does that happen? Tradition. And I’m not suggesting that church membership is wrong. I’m saying there is not a Biblical command for the way we do it.

      I served in a church where a woman thought we were heretics because we didn’t sing the doxology every Sunday. Why? Tradition. And it’s usually tradition that dictates the music style of our worship services.

      Watch how churches handle the Lord’s Supper. Some churches and denominations even have written instructions on how it has to be done. Stray from those guidelines and you are in trouble with the powers that be. And yet very, very few churches even come close to handling communion the way Jesus did it. Why? Tradition.

      Churches are full of such traditions that aren’t Biblical mandates, but we treat them as such. We need to be very careful about that so that we don’t become Pharisaical in equating man’s laws and traditions to God’s demands and expectations.

      That being said, I want to be very careful that this is not submitted with a condemning or critical spirit, because it is certainly not meant that way. Many of those “traditions” are very meaningful to people and are a blessing to them, and as such give them a handle on their walk with Christ. But sometimes those same traditions can be a hindrance to another believer. So, we need to be tender and sensitive to these matters. To offend a brother simply for the sake of a tradition, or for the sake of breaking a tradition would be inherently wrong – and there IS Biblical mandate concerning that.

Leave a comment